Larry Kudlow is a moron

Sometimes, when I fail to hit mute on my TV, I am blasted by the brainless rantings of CNBC’s Larry Kudlow, whose zeal for tax cuts rivals his earlier addiction to cocaine and alcohol. He believes that returning high-income tax rates to those during the 90’s boom will lead to the destruction of mankind. If rich people are so motivated by tax rates, then why do so many live in NYC and California? Even Kudlow lived in NYC until he was fired from his Wall St. job and went to a drug treatment center in ’95. NY has a fairly high state tax that is 6.85% max and NYC adds ~3.5% max. There’s also a fairly high property tax and sales tax. Why haven’t the rich left NYC a long time ago? Financial companies can now move anywhere because the markets are mostly electronic. People could commute from upstate NY, CT or NJ to avoid some NYC tax. Some do, but many remain. More importanly, why did Kudlow live in NYC rather than commute from a lower tax area? The boat outside my house takes me to Wall St. in 10 minutes.

Kudlow’s addictive personality and meager education in economics made him susceptible to Arthur Laffer’s simplistic view of the world. And his pompous and pseudo-intellectual manner probably makes him popular on the right-wing cocktail party circuit. Indeed, his conversion to Catholicism is yet another example of his need to belong to a cult. My only hope is that someday Steve Liesman will strangle Kudlow live on-the-air.

9 comments

  1. preservecottage

    Thank you for so precisely putting into words what I have been thinking for weeks now. And that is only one of a dozen points that could be made concerning his mania on this tax question. I have been watching more Bloomberg lately, more news and analysis and less ranting in general.

  2. Carey Blecher

    You said it. I can’t stand that all his cronies come on his show and laud him and “free market capitalism” way of thinking. Moron is being to kind

  3. jane quatam

    This comparison is really not fair to morons. Larry Kudlow really exists in a different realm than all the rest of humanity. Larry should be compared to earthworms, his sole existence is to spew the words “more tax cuts” much like earthworms who exist merely enrich soil with fecal material, Larry enriches conversation with verbal feces.

    Perhaps I am being unfair to earthworms as they actually provide a service to humanity, though Larry does provide a service to those who pay his handsome salary at GE, they ensure that those tax cuts for the rich keep on coming.

  4. Carey

    Well Jane, please tell us how you really feel !!

    Interestingly enough, being in the financial advisory field ( and I am a minority in my political beliefs ), I’ve had occasion to meet one of Kudlows cronies- Brian Wesbury, who basically agrees with Kudlow. Yet I have found him to be a man of reason and intelligence. He doesn’t just sit there and spew the words “Tax Cuts”. I’m not trying to be a shrill for Brian, and he know my disagreement with his politics, But I’ve found him to be a thoughtful person that will listen to the other side. Just to show full disclosure-I have acted on his investment recommendations and more times than not he has hit some big winners. So, they’re not all morons

Leave a comment